Welcome Mr. Joannes- Ambleside's New Head of School

May 18, 2020

Dear Ambleside at Skylark Community,

It is with great hope and a focus toward the future that we are writing to you today! After a thorough search and much prayer, the Ambleside at Skylark Board of Directors has selected a candidate for the Head of School. We are excited to announce that Mr. Charles ‘Skip’ Joannes will begin his tenure as Head of School in June 2020. Mr. Joannes lives in the Glenwood Springs area and has become a valued member of the Roaring Fork community over the past six years since moving here. The Board of Directors agreed that Mr. Joannes exhibits the kind of leadership skills and faith in our savior Jesus Christ that will lead and honor the work Ambleside at Skylark has done, and will continue to do, going forward. He has previously worked in a Principal role at Christian schools in both California and Australia. Both schools flourished during his tenure and we believe that his faith, enthusiasm, and dedication will help Ambleside at Skylark continue to grow and prosper. 

While we find ourselves in a very different and challenging time that limits our options to meet, as soon as we are able we plan to host an event to welcome and introduce Mr. Joannes in person and give all our families and staff a chance to meet him. The Board of Directors continues to meet and will be present as Mr. Joannes works with Mrs. Wenger to create a smooth transition this summer. The Board of Directors and Mr. Joannes are excited about the prospects for the school, not only this next school year, but into the future!

Please continue to lift Ambleside at Skylark, our Board of Directors, Mrs. Wenger, Mr. Joannes, our staff, students, and our families in prayer. We remain grateful to God for all His provision both past and present. Please feel free to reach out to the Board of Directors if you have questions. 

With hope and many thanks,

Ambleside at Skylark Board of Directors

Cody O’Neil - Chairman                                   
Kelli Shedden - Vice Chair
Aaron Shaffer - Treasurer                                 
Chris Wenger - Secretary
Jesseca Toovey - Board Member